Words for Christian Living – Fear

“The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?  When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.  Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.”  Psalm 27:1-3 (KJV)

What place does fear have in the life of a Christian and/or Christian living?  One place;  Fearing God is the beginning of wisdom (Psalm 111:10; Proverbs 9:10).  Someone has said, “If we fear God we need fear nothing else”.

The Psalmist tells us that the LORD is his light and salvation.  If that be so, then whom does the Psalmist need to fear; or who does any Child of God need fear; or what do we need to fear?

We can be troubled on every side.  Health, wealth (or lack of wealth worry about paying the rent, house payment, bills), personal attacks from others, even looming death may be one of the things that strike fear into our hearts.  There is no benefit from this worry.  Worry is nothing more or less than fear.  God is our strength.

We need to hear the words of Jesus and trust Him…

“Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall He not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith? Therefore take no thought, saying, ‘What shall we eat? or, ‘What shall we drink? or, ‘Wherewithal shall we be clothed?’ (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”  Matthew 6:30-34 (KJV)

